Our CYPFDO Team

Are you aware that we have 20 Children and Young People Football Development Officers (CYPFDOs) across the country who are employed to support colleges?

Lewis

What do CYPFDOs do?

CYPFDOs are full-time football-specific officers who play a leading role in supporting the network of Further Education Colleges and some schools. They are more or less Football Development Officers for Colleges if that is an easier way of describing them.

The CYPFDOs are tasked with supporting those colleges and schools who are committed to addressing the drop-off in participation within football at the 16-19 age group, whilst also sustaining existing participants and growing football participation. In other words, if you are interested in developing football programmes for your students to participate in, they may be able to help you.

What are their Work Areas?

The four key work areas for the 'CYPFDO' is to support colleges in delivery of the following:

  1. To design, develop and implement an exciting college based football enrichment programme (Team Nineteen or Just Play) for students aged 16-19 to increase participation for males and female students.
  2. To design, develop and implement a college Club links programme to support the transition of male and female students into community clubs.
  3. To develop community based football programmes for players aged 16-19 in partnership with local partners, such as small-sided football providers.
  4. To train, develop and deploy football leaders as volunteers, coaches and officials aged 16-19 through the FA Football Futures programme and thereby support the enrichment, club links and community programmes with a student volunteer workforce.

 

Where Are the Officers Located?

A handful of the twenty officers are located within some of the country’s largest multi campus  colleges, but most cover a county each and are embedded into the local County Football Associations. All of the officers are project managed nationally by the FA National Football Development Officer 16-19+ Ollie Selfe and report locally into their County Football Associations.

How do I Get in Touch?

Below are the CYPFDOs locations and contact details. Please do make contact if there is an officer in your area and you’d like some support or would like to just enquire. Alternatively if there is not an officer listed in your areas do contact us via nick_hawkins@aoc.co.uk or contact your local County Football Association for advice.

North East & Yorkshire

CYPFDO County Durham: Kieren.Laverick@durhamfa.com

CYPFDO West Riding: Lindsey.Whitton@westridingfa.com 

North West

CYPFDO Manchester: Sarah.Cummings@manchesterfa.com 

CYPFDO Manchester College: Charlotte.Healy@themanchestercollege.ac.uk

CYPFDO Lancashire: Nick.Birchall@lancashirefa.com 

CYPFDO Liverpool: Wayne.Wardle@liverpoolfa.com

CYPFDO Cheshire: James.Self@cheshirefa.com

West Midlands

CYPFDO Birmingham (Black Country): Luke.Bowles@birminghamfa.com 

CYPFDO Birmingham (Coventry, Solihull & Warwickshire): Michael.Thurlow@birminghamfa.com

CYPFDO Birmingham: Cristina.Torkildsen@birminghamfa.com 

CYPFDO Staffordshire: Gemma.Turner@staffordshirefa.com

CYPFDO Telford College: TBC

London, South East & East

CYPFDO London: Emily.Hill@londonfa.com

CYPFDO Middlesex: craig.nicholson@middlesexfa.com

CYPFDO Hampshire: Daniel.Greenwood@hampshirefa.com

CYPFDO Hampshire: Rhea.West@hampshirefa.com

CYPFDO Sussex: Michael.Ryan@sussexfa.com

CYPFDO Surrey:Laura.Wallman@surreyfa.com

CYPFDO Essex: Luke.Hornsley@essexfa.com

South West

CYPFDO Somerset: Stuart.Wells@somersetfa.com